About Competitions

Each year, the organization BEST conducts Engineering Competitions, which take place in 3 stages: local, regional (national) and European level. The winners of the local stages are competing with each other at the regional and national level.

Engineering competitions BMSTU is the local stage of the competition, the best 2 teams, each in its own direction, go to the next stage - Baltic Competitions that are held between the Baltic States.

The final stage of the competition brings together the winners of the previous stages from all over Europe; it is the most extensive and popular student event. Every year, it takes place in another European country, but each time the same high level of organization remains, and therefore, the attention to the participants.
Ncst4q7w73E

Students can take part in competitions organized by the university in which they are studying. The event involves teams consisting of 4 people.

In Engineering Competitions teams can prove themselves in one of two categories:

TeamDesign(TD)

«TeamDesign»

(duration - 8 hours on the first day and 2 hours on the second day)

Each team will be offered a variety of limited materials, of which it is necessary to construct a complete unit to solve a specific technical problem. To solve the problem, participants show the knowledge of applied physics, using their logic and creative thinking and teamwork. Besides the main task - to design a device, the team will face problems such as::

  • effective use of limited resources;
  • organization of teamwork with the aim of timely results;
  • presentation of the product, its advantages and functional features

Construction will be tested in the final presentation. The design and operation of these constructions will be evaluated by the jury of representatives from the BMSTU and partner companies.

A necessary requirement for the team is the knowledge of English language.

CaseStudy(CS)

"Case study"

(duration - 8 hours on the first day and 2 hours on the second day)

Teams are given a hypothetical problem or a current business challenge that the organization may face in the course of its business and that requires a creative approach. You know why BMSTU students needed everywhere - someone like you can solve any problem, including the problem of the level of international engineering or even consulting companies! Task requires more analysis than the direction of Team Design, but allows you to try your skills in the environment of the real work of one of the largest companies! The participants are required to carry out the basic estimations, to present and justify the solution to the problem. To solve the task, participants apply analytical skills, using logical and creative thinking and teamwork. The teams will also face challenges such as:

  • effective use of limited resources;
  • organization of teamwork with the aim of timely results;
  • presentation of the solutions of the problem, supported by a real analysis.

The final presentation of the solutions plays an important role in the team work assessment, it will be evaluated by a jury of representatives of BMSTU and partner companies. The presentation can be presented both in Russian and English languages. Internet access will be provided for the teams during the competitions.

Tasks of previous years

The winners of the local round will go to the regional stage, and the winners of the regional rounds will go to the final stage of the competition, which will take place in Brno, Czech Republic.

О соревнованиях

Каждый год организация BEST проводит Инженерные Соревнования, которые проходят в 3 этапа: на локальном, региональном (национальном) и европейском уровнях. Победители локальных этапов соревнуются друг с другом на региональном и национальном уровне.

Инженерные соревнования в МТГУ им. Н. Э. Баумана – локальный этап соревнований, 2 лучшие команды, каждая в своем направлении, едут на следующий этап – Балтийские Соревнования, проводящиеся между странами Балтии.

Финальный этап соревнований объединяет победителей предыдущего этапа из всех уголков Европы, является наиболее масштабным  и популярным студенческим мероприятием. Ежегодно он проходит в разных странах Европы, но каждый раз остается неизменным высокий уровень организации и должное внимание к участникам.
Ncst4q7w73E

Студенты могут принимать участие в Соревнованиях, организуемых университетом, в котором они обучаются. В мероприятии участвуют команды, состоящие из 4 человек.

На Инженерных Соревнованиях команды могут попробовать свои силы в одной из двух категорий:

 

TeamDesign(TD)

«Командное конструирование»

(продолжительность – 8 часов первый день и 2 часа во второй день)

Каждой команде будут предложены различные исходные материалы в ограниченном количестве, из которых надо сконструировать комплексное устройство для решения конкретной технической задачи. Для решения задачи участники применяют знания прикладной физики, используют свое логическое и креативное мышление и умение работать в команде. Кроме основной задачи – сконструировать устройство, команды столкнутся с такими проблемами как:

  • эффективное использование ограниченных ресурсов;
  • организация слаженной работы команды с целью своевременного получения результата;
  • презентация изделия, его преимуществ и функциональных особенностей.

По завершении конструирования будут испытаны все устройства, параметры, дизайн и работу которых оценит жюри из представителей МГТУ им. Н.Э. Баумана и компаний-партнёров.

Необходимым требованием является знание командой английского языка.

 

CaseStudy(CS)

«Решение проблемы»

(продолжительность – 8 часов в первый день и 2 часа во второй день)

Командам дается гипотетическая проблема или текущая бизнес-задача, с которой организация может столкнуться в процессе своей деятельности и которая требует креативного подхода.  Ты узнаешь, почему бауманцы нужны везде — такие как ты могут решить любую проблему, в том числе — проблему уровня международных инженерных или консалтинговых компаний! Задание требует больше анализа, чем направление Team Design, но дает возможность попробовать себя в среде реальной работы одной из крупнейших компаний! От участников требуется провести базовый расчет, представить и обосновать решение проблемы. Для решения задачи участники применяют аналитические навыки, используют логическое и креативное мышление и умение работать в команде. Команды также столкнутся с такими проблемами, как:

  • эффективное использование ограниченных ресурсов;
  • организация слаженной работы команды с целью своевременного получения результата;
  • презентация решения задачи, подкрепленного реальным анализом.

Важную роль в оценке работы команды играет финальная презентация решения, которая будет оценена жюри из представителей МГТУ им. Н.Э. Баумана и компаний-партнёров. Презентация может быть представлена как на русском, так и на английском языках. Сама работа должна быть исполнена  на английском языке. Для команд, соревнующихся в данной категории, будет предоставлен доступ в Интернет на все время проведения Соревнований.

Примеры заданий прошлых лет

Победители локального раунда поедут на региональный этап, а победители регионального раунда поедут на финальный этап соревнований, который пройдёт в Брно, Чехия.